logo logo

Daniel J. Borzutzky

Daniel J. Borzutzky, American writer, educator. Nominee, Puschart Prize for Fiction, 1999, Literature Award, Illinois Arts Council. Volunteer teacher of English as a second language Marjorie Kovler Center for the Treatment of Survivors of Torture, Chicago, 2003—2004.

Background

  • Borzutzky, Daniel J. was born on May 19, 1974 in Pittsburgh. Son of Carlos A. and Silvia Borzutzky.

  • Education

    • Master of Fine Arts in Writing, Art Institute Chicago, 1998—2000.

    Career

    • Professor, liberal arts Art Institute Chicago, since 2000. Professor, writing University Chicago, Graham School, since 2003. Freelance Spanish-English translator, Chicago, 2003—2004.

      Book reviewer Rain Taxi, Minneapolis, since 2004.

    Works

    • Arbitrary Tales
    • In the tradition of Ben Marcus, Matthew Derby, and David Ohle, Daniel Borzutzky's fictions mine the fables that comprise our understanding of ourselves: the tales that are woven up so intricately with us we cannot tell where we begin and our histories end.
    • Author: (collection of poetry) Arbitrary Tales, 2004.

    Membership

    Volunteer teacher of English as a second language Marjorie Kovler Center for the Treatment of Survivors of Torture, Chicago, 2003—2004.

    Connections

    • father: Carlos A.
    • mother: Silvia Borzutzky
    See on larger map
    Born March 19, 1974
    (age 42)
    Nationality
    • 2003
      professor