logo logo

Glendon Fred Swarthout

Glendon Fred Swarthout, American author. Recipient Playwriting award Theater Guild, 1947, Hopwood award in fiction 1948, O. Henry Prize Short Stories 1960, Gold medal National Society Arts and Letters 1972, Spur award for best western novel Western Writers American 1975, 88, Wrangler award for outstanding western novel Western Heritage Foundation, 1988, Owen Wister award for lifetime achievement Western Writers American, 1991.


  • Swarthout, Glendon Fred was born on April 8, 1918 in Pinckney, Michigan, United States. Son of Fred Harrington and Lila (Chubb).

  • Education

    • Bachelor of Arts Michigan, 1939. Master of Arts, University Michigan, 1946. Doctor of Philosophy, Michigan State University, 1955.


    • Whichaway,
    • Published by 3 different publishers (Borzoi Books/Alfred Knopf, 1992, and Northland Publishing, 1997) since its original edition from Random House in 1966, Whichaway has also been optioned by 3 different Hollywood producers over the decades for a possible TV-Movie or low-budget feature film.
    • The Melodeon
    • A youngster relates how his grandparents donated a valuable family heirloom, their melodeon, to the church in an unselfish act of giving one Christmas during the Depression when they had nothing to give each other.
    • Bless the Beasts & Children: A Novel
    • From the author of The Homesman, Glendon Swarthout’s Bless the Beasts & Children is the classic coming-of-age novel that explores the fabric of the American ideal—as seen through the eyes of rebellious youth.
    • The Homesman: A Novel
    • IN PIONEER NEBRASKA, A WOMAN LEADS WHERE NO MAN WILL GO Soon to be a major motion picture directed by Tommy Lee Jones, The Homesman is a devastating story of early pioneers in 1850s American West.


    Served with United States Army, 1943-1945, European Theatre of Operations.


    • Son of; married Kathryn Blair Vaughn, December 28, 1940. 1 son, Miles.
    See on larger map
    Died September 23, 1992
    (aged 74)
    • 1939
      University Michigan
    • 1946
      University Michigan
    • 1955
      Michigan State University