logo logo

Diana E. Murphy

Diana E. Murphy, American federal judge. Bar: Minnesota 1974, United States Supreme Court 1980.


  • Murphy, Diana E. was born on January 4, 1934 in Faribault, Minnesota, United States. Daughter of Albert W. and Adleyne (Heiker) Kuske.

  • Education

    • Bachelor magna cum laude, University Minnesota, 1954. Juris Doctor magna cum laude, University Minnesota, 1974. Postgraduate, Johannes Gutenberg University, 1954—1955.

      Postgraduate, University Minnesota, 1955—1958. Doctor of Laws, St. Johns University, 2000. Doctor of Laws, University St. Thomas, 2003.


    • Associate Lindquist & Vennum, 1974—1976. Municipal judge Hennepin County, 1976—1978, Minnesota State district judge, 1978—1980. Judge United States District Court for Minnesota, Minneapolis, 1980—1994, chief judge, 1992—1994.

      Judge United States Court Appeals (8th circuit), since 1994. Chair United States Sentencing Commission, 1999—2004.

    Major achievements

    • Bar: Minnesota 1974, United States Supreme Court 1980.


    • Board editors: Minnesota Law Review, Georgetown University Journal on Courts, Health Sciences and the Law, 1989-1992.


    Board directors National Association Public Interest Law Fellowships for Equal Justice, 1992—1995, Minneapolis United Way, 1985—2001, treasurer, 1990—1994, vice-chairman, 1996—1997, chairman board directors, 1997—1998. Board directors Bush Foundation, 1982—2006, chairman board directors, 1986—1991. Organizer, 1st chairman advisory council Amicus, board directors, 1976—1980.

    Chair Minneapolis Charter Commission, 1973—1976. Board directors Operations De Novo, 1971—1976, chairman board directors, 1974—1975. Member, chairman bill of rights committee Minnesota Constitutional Study Commission, 1971—1973.

    Regent St. Johns University, 1978—1987, 1988—1998, chairman board, 1995—1998, board overseers school theology, 1998—2001. Member Minnesota Bicentennial Commission, 1987—1988. Trustee Twin Cities Public television, 1985—1994, chairman board, 1990—1992.

    Trustee University Minnesota Foundation, since 1990, chairman of board, 2003—2005. Board directors Science Museum Minnesota, 1988—1994, vice-chairman, 1991—1994. Trustee University St. Thomas, since 1991, chair executive committee, since 2006.

    Vice chair board governors University St. Thomas Law School, 2001—2004, chair, 2004—2006. Board directors Spring Hill Conference Center, 1978—1984. Board governors Hill Museum and Manuscript Library., since 2005.

    Board directors Minnesota Opera, 1998—2004, since 2005. Fellow: American Bar Foundation. Member: American Bar Association (ethics and professional responsibility judges advisory committee 1981-1988, standing committee on judicial selection, tenure and compensation 1991-1994, standing committee on federal judicial improvements 1994-1997, Appellate Judges conference executive committee 1996-1999, chairman ethics and professional responsibility judges advisory committee 1997—2000), Federal Judicial Center (board directors 1990-1994, 8th circuit judicial council 1992-1994, 1992-1994, convener gender fairness task force 1993, United States judicial conference committee on court administration and case management 1994-1999, chair gender fairness implementation committee 1997-1998), History Society for 8th Circuit (board directors 1988-1991), Federal Judges Association 1982—2003, (vice president 1984-1989, president 1989-1991), University Minnesota Alumni Association (board directors 1975-1983, national president 1981-1982), Minnesota Women Lawyers (Myra Bradwell award 1996), National Association Women Judges (Leadership Judges Judicial Administration award 1998, Honoree of Year 2002), National Association Governing Boards Universities Colleges (director since 1998, vice chair since 2006), American Judicature Society (board directors 1982-1993, vice president 1985-1988, treasurer 1988-1989, chairman board 1989-1991), American Law Institute, Hennepin County Bar Association (governor council 1976-1981), Minnesota Bar Association (board governors 1977-1981), Order of Coif, Phi Beta Kappa.


    • Married Joseph Murphy, July 24, 1958. Children: Michael, John E.
    • father: Albert Murphy
    • spouse: Joseph Murphy
    • children: Michael Murphy
    • John E. Murphy
    Diana E. Murphy
    See on larger map