Log In

Eric Ambler Edit Profile

also known as Eliot Reed


Eric Ambler was a famous writer of spy novels who introduced a new realism to the genre. Ambler also used the pseudonym Eliot Reed for books co-written with Charles Rodda. Award 1964; Award 1973, 1972; Award 1975, 1974; Award 1986, 1958, Wreck of the Mary Deare 1959, Love Hate Love 1970.


AMBLER, Eric was born on June 28, 1909 in London. Son of Alfred Percy and Amy Madeleine Ambler. His parents had been entertainers and Ambler himself also toured in the late 1920s as a music-hall comedian and wrote plays.


From 1924 to 1927 he studied engineering at London University and took up an apprenticeship in engineering at the Edison Swan Electric Company.


Later, when the company became part of Associated Electrical Industries, he worked in its advertising department. In the 1930s Ambler wrote avant-garde plays. By 1937 he was the director of a London ad agency. After resigning he moved to Paris for some time and devoted himself to writing. In Paris he met an American fashion correspondent, Louise Crombie, whom he married in 1939.

Like numerous like-minded people in different countries, Ambler was shocked and disillusioned by the Nazi-Soviet Pact of 1939. His post-war anti-Communist novel Judgment on Deltchev, based on the Stalinist purge-trials in Eastern Europe, caused him to be reviled by many former Communist Party and other progressive associates.

he Way Ahead 1944, The October Man 1947, The Passionate Friends 1948, Highly Dangerous 1950, The Magic Box 1951, Gigolo and Gigolette (in Encore) 1952, The Card 1952, Rough Shoot 1953, The Cruel Sea 1953, Lease of Life 1954, The Purple Plain 1954, Yangtse Incident 1957, A Night to Remember 1958, Wreck of the Mary Deare 1959, Love Hate Love 1970. Writer 1929-1935; professional writer since 1936. Served World War II; Lieutenant-Colonel 1944. Assistant Director of Army Kinematography, War Office 1944-1946.

Wrote and produced film The October Man 1947.


  • novel

    • The Dark Frontier

    • Uncommon Danger

    • Epitaph for a Spy

    • Judgment on Deltchev

    • The Mask of Dimitrios

    • Journey into Fear

    • Cause for Alarm


1958, Wreck of the Mary Deare 1959, Love Hate Love 1970.