Log In

Raymond Albert Kroc (Ray Kroc)

businessman , entrepreneur , creator of McDonald's

A pioneering businessman who applied the principles of mass production to a service industry, Ray Kroc is regarded as one of the greatest businessmen of all time for his contribution in making McDonald's the largest fast-food franchise in the world.

Background

Ethnicity: His family were immigrants from the village Břasy near Plzeň, Bohemia (now the Czech Republic).

Kroc was born on October 5, 1902 in Oak Park, Illinois, near Chicago, to parents of Czech origin, Rose Mary (Hrach) and Alois "Louis" Kroc.

Education

Oak Park, IL, dropped out

Career

At the age of 15 he dealed with printed music and musical instruments.

During the First World War he lied about his age and became a Red Cross ambulance driver at 15.

Between the end of the war and the early 1950s he tried his hand at a number of trades including paper cup salesman, pianist, jazz musician, band member and radio DJ at Oak Park radio station WGES.

At one time, Ray worked for room and board at one of Ray Dambaugh's restaurants in the midwest to learn the restaurant business. He eventually became a multi-mixer milkshake machine salesman, traveling across the country.

Achievements

  • Invented a multi cocktail shaker, with the help of which 5 cocktails could be mixed simultaneous (1937), become the only salesman of this shaker.

    Founded "McDonald’s System, Inc" - the apple of all his life.

    The Ray Kroc Award was established by the McDonald's Corporation in 1999, and is an annual award given to the top 1% of McDonald's managers from their 14,000 restaurants in the United States.

    Outside of the business world, he was admired for having purchased the San Diego Padres major league baseball team in order to prevent them from being moved to Washington, D.C.

    As CEO of the McDonald's Corporation, Kroc amassed a fortune of 500 million dollars. He was named by Time magazine as one of the "100 Most Influential People" in the category, "Titans of Industry".

Works

Politics

Republican

Views

Kroc's foundation supported research and treatment of alcoholism, diabetes, and other diseases. He established the Ronald McDonald House foundation. He was a major donor to the Dartmouth Medical School.

Quotations: If you work just for money, you'll never make it, but if you love what you're doing and you always put the customer first, success will be yours.

When you're green, your growing. When you're ripe, you rot.

Personality

Physical Characteristics : Ray Kroc had suffered a stroke in 1978 and his health steadily deteriorated throughout the latter part of the decade until he was confined to a wheelchair in the early 80s.

Interests

  • Other Interests

    Business, trade, inventions, publicity.

    Author of books:

    Grinding It Out: The Making of McDonald's (1977).

    Charity:

    Kroc's foundation supported research and treatment of alcoholism, diabetes, and other diseases. He established the Ronald McDonald House foundation. He was a major donor to the Dartmouth Medical School.

Connections

Kroc was married three times, first marrying his high school sweetheart, Ethel Fleming, in 1922; the couple divorced in 1961, upon his accquisition of the McDonalds Corp. His second marriage was to Jane Dobbins Green (1963-68), a secretary, which also ended in divorce. His third marriage, to the former Joan Mansfield Smith, a recently divorced ex-wife of one of his early franchisees, Rowland F. Smith, a WWII Navy veteran, was on March 8, 1969. He stayed with his third wife till the end of his life.

father:
Louis Kroc - Western Union

Clerk

mother:
Rose Kroc

Piano teacher

brother:
Robert Kroc

Sister:
Lorraine Groh

Has a multiple sclerosis

1-st wife:
Ethel Fleming

(m. 1922, div. 1961)

2-nd wife:
Jane Dobbins Green

(m. 1963; div. 1968)

3-rd wife:
Joan B. Kroc - philanthropist
Joan B. Kroc - 3-rd wife of Raymond Kroc

(m. 1969; his death 1984)

References

  • Ray Kroc: McDonald's Restaurants Builder (Food Dudes) Brief biography of Ray Kroc, founder of McDonald's fast food chain.
  • The Founder: Michael Keaton, Laura Dern, Linda Cardellini, Nick Offerman: Amazon Digital Services LLC Buy The Founder: Read 126 Movies & TV Reviews - Amazon.com
  • Biography - Ray Kroc: Fast Food McMillionaire Biography - Ray Kroc: Fast Food McMillionaire: Biography, Ray Kroc, McDonald's: Movies & TV
  • Great Leaders: Ray Kroc eBook: The Editors of New Word City: Kindle Store From soda jerk to billionaire restauranteur, Ray Kroc exemplified American entrepreneurship at its best. As Kroc built McDonald's into the world's biggest fast-food restaurant chain, he adhered to certain virtues he considered indispensible for success - passion, persistence, simplicity, trust in frontline employees, and partnering with suppliers. And he never forgot to smile, smile, smile. Here, in this short-form book, is what all businesspeople can learn from his inspiring life.
  • Ray Kroc: 10 Leadership Lessons from Ray Kroc's Life: Improve your Charisma, Inspire Yourself and Motivate People with 10 Principles of One of the Most ... History (Leadership and Charisma Book 4) eBook: Well Being Publishing House, Richard J. Bowerman: Kindle Store Would you Like the "60 Leadership Lessons Entire Collection from. Gandhi, Mother Teresa, Albert Einstein, Nelson Mandela, John F. Kennedy and Ray Kroc (McDonalds' Founder)? ★★★ Grab your Copy Here: amzn.to/1BzAnYS (copy and paste in your browser) ★★★ Leadership & Charisma Vol. 6 - 10 Leadership Lesson from Ray Kroc's Life - Improve your Charisma, Inspire Yourself and Motivate People with 10 Principles of One of the Most “Woman of Changing” in Human History Today only, get this New Kindle eBook for just $0.99. Regularly priced at $4.99. Read on your PC, Mac, smart phone, tablet or Kindle device Discover How to Become More Charismatic in your Business Life and in Social Life! Here Is A Preview Of What You'll Learn... Lesson 1: Whatever You Do, Give it Your Best Lesson 2: Aim for Perfection and You Will Receive Great Rewards in Return Lesson 3: Respect Your Employees Lesson 4: Disappointments Are a Part of Your Job; Learn to Bounce Back Lesson 5: Connect and Network with Other People Lesson 6: Work for Something Other than Money 4 More Lessons to Become More Charismatic Download your copy today! Take action today and download this book for a limited time discount of only $0.99! You save 4,00$!! Hurry Up! Tags: Charisma, Inspiring Story, Motivation, Motivate People, Leasdership, Lesson from Life, McDonald's, Charismatic Leaders
  • Ray Kroc: Un sogno americano Ray Kroc fu un imprenditore, commerciante e finanziere, famoso per essere colui che comprò McDonald's ai fratelli Richard e Maurice McDonald nel 1955, 15 anni dopo la sua fondazione, facendo diventare un piccolo ristorante di provincia uno dei business più redditizi della storia. Nonostante non sia stato lui il creatore di McDonald's, fu lui a fondare la catena di fast food come la conosciamo oggi e il responsabile della sua internazionalizzazione ed espansione in America e all'estero. La visione oltre i momentanei ostacoli, la capacità di scegliere e stimolare bravi collaboratori e venditori, la fede nel duro lavoro, la meticolosità nel dirigere e cambiare direzione quando necessario, la fede cieca nelle opportunità che il suo Paese riservava a chiunque ci credesse abbastanza, furono solo alcune delle chiavi del successo di Ray Kroc, senza dubbio uno dei più grandi imprenditori del Ventesimo secolo e grande esempio di visionario imprenditoriale anche ai giorni nostri.
  • Ray A. Kroc: McDonald's Mogul (Titans of Fortune) eBook: Daniel Alef: Kindle Store New Enhanced Digital Edition Ray Kroc's remarkable rise to the top of the food chain--fast foods that is--began at a later age than most successful entrepreneurs, at age 52. The former salesman of Multimixer milkshake machines heard about the McDonald brothers' restaurant in Southern California, an eatery serving 15-cent hamburgers and 10-cent fries and making 40 milkshakes at a time. Sensing its potential, Kroc began to franchise the operation, ultimately bought out the McDonald brothers, and fast foods were never the same again. A great visionary, promoter, and marketer, Kroc built the chain into one of the most iconic food empires in the world. It wasn't always easy and he had to overcome several near failures and personal disasters before reaching the apex of the business world. Award-winning author Daniel Alef tells Kroc's story and the impact he had on the eating habits of billions of people around the globe. [3.064-word Titans of Fortune article with timeline, further reading and video links]
  • McDonald's: Behind The Arches Perfect for fans of The Founder, this is the real-life story of the world’s premier entrepreneurial success. The growth of McDonald’s worldwide continues to astonish. In tough financial times, McDonald’s proved that ingenuity, trial and error, and gut instinct were the keys to building a service business the entire world has come to admire. McDonald’s has been a trendsetter in advertising, focusing on different demographics as well as the physically disabled. McDonald’s created McJobs, a program that employs both mentally challenged adults and senior citizens. And because its franchisees have their fingers on the pulse of the marketplace, McDonald’s has evolved successfully with the health food revolution, launching dozens of new products and moving toward environmentally safe packaging and recyclable goods. Inspiring, informative, and filled with behind-the-scenes stories, this remarkable saga offers an irresistible look inside a great American business success.
  • Leadership Lessons: Warren Buffett, Walt Disney, Thomas Edison, Katharine Graham, Steve Jobs, and Ray Kroc eBook: Will Peters: Kindle Store Great leaders have a great deal to teach those of us who aspire to leadership. But their lessons are as diverse and sometimes contradictory as the leaders themselves; we have to pick and choose among them, matching our own talents, temperament, and shortcomings with those of the models we aim to copy. Here are studies of six business titans of the recent past who offer a wide range of precepts for leadership: Warren Buffett, the most successful investor in history, who combines vast wealth with honesty, unfeigned modesty, and self-deprecating wit; Walt Disney, the great entertainer, who promoted family values but was also a tyrannical micro-manager; Thomas Alva Edison, the world's most prolific inventor, who gave us the phonograph, the incandescent light, the electric generator, and motion pictures; Katharine Graham, who earned world fame as the courageous publisher whose Washington Post led the fight to uncover the Watergate scandal that drove Richard Nixon from the White House; Steve Jobs, the Apple co-founder and genius who dazzled the world with the revolutionary iMac, iPod, iPhone, and iPad; and Ray Kroc, the late-blooming entrepreneur who built McDonald's into the world's biggest fast-food restaurant chain. No reader will follow all of their precepts, but all six offer vital lessons for anyone who wants to be a leader.