Log In

Dan Futterman Edit Profile

actor , Scriptwriter

Dan Futterman is a famous actor. The Birdcage starring Robin Williams and Nathan Lane was the film that gave him a leg up. Playing the son of William's gay character, Futterman recieved his widest exposure. His biggest role to date in a major motion picture has been playing murdered journalist Daniel Pearl opposite Anhelina Joly as his wife in A Mighty Heart.


Futterman was born in Maryland and grew up in Westchester County, New York.


Mamaroneck High School

He graduated from Columbia University with a degree in English literature and began acting in college doing student theatre. Immediately upon graduation, he started auditioning.


His first film was The Fisher King, playing one of the thugs under the Manhattan Bridge that beats up Jeff Bridges's character.

1998's Shooting Fish was Futterman's first starring role. The film centred around two con men, one American and one British, who both get sidetracked by a girl (Kate Beckinsale).

Futterman's other films include Breathing Room, Passed Away, Big Girls Don't Cry ... They Get Even and 1999

On stage, he's appeared on Broadway in Angels in America and in Jon Robin Baitz's A Fair Country, among other productions.

Offscreen, Futterman married producer/writer Anya Epstein in 2000. They have two daughters.


As actor

A Mighty Heart (2007)

Related (2005) (TV Series) (2005–2006)

Gerald L'Ecuyer: A Filmmaker's Journey (2004) (TV)

Will and Grace (2003) (TV Series)

Enough (2002)

Urbania (2000)

Sex and the City (1999) (TV Series)

Homicide: Life on the Street (1999) (TV Series)

Judging Amy (1999) (TV Series) (1999–2001, 2004–2005)

When Trumpets Fade (1998) (TV)

Thicker Than Blood (1998) (TV)

1999 (1998)

Caroline in the City (1997) (TV Series)

Shooting Fish (1997)

Far Harbor (1996)

Breathing Room (1996)

The Birdcage (1996)

New York News (1995) (TV Series)

Tracey Takes on New York (1993) (TV)

Class of '61 (1993) (TV)

Another World (1964) TV Series (1992)

Big Girls Don't Cry... They Get Even (1992)

Passed Away (1992)

The Fisher King (1991)

Daughters of Privilege (1991) (TV)

As writer

Capote (2005)

In Treatment (television) (2010)


Anya Epstein - writer

Sylvie Futterman

Eve Futterman