Log In

David Almond Edit Profile


David Almond is a British writer and an author of novels for children.


He started out as an author of adult fiction, and his stories appeared in many little magazines, including Iron, Stand, London Magazine, Edinburgh Review. His works are highly philosophical and thus appeal to children and adults alike. Recurring themes throughout include the complex relationships between apparent opposites (such as life and death, reality and fiction, past and future); forms of education; growing up and adapting to change; the nature of the "self".Since 2007 he has been a Visiting Professor in Creative Writing at Nottingham Trent University


  • First novel, SKELLIG, won the Whitbread Children's Award and the Carnegie Medal. His second, KIT'S WILDERNESS, won the Smarties Award Silver Medal, was highly commended for the Carnegie Medal, and shortlisted for the Guardian Award. THE FIRE-EATERS won the Whitbread, the Smarties Gold Award and was shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal. His latest novel, CLAY, was shortlisted for the Costa Children's Book award and the Carnegie Medal


  • a novel

    • Kit's Wilderness

    • Heaven Eyes

    • Secret Heart

    • The Fire-Eaters

    • Clay

    • Raven Summer

    • The True Tale of the Monster Billy Dean

    • The Boy Who swam With Piranhas

  • a prequel to Scellig

    • My Name is Mina

  • children's novel

    • Skellig (1998)

  • short story collection

    • Sleepless Nights (1985)

    • A Kind of Heaven


  • Writers

    Jack Kerouac, Flannery O'Connor, Samuel Beckett, Philippe Petit, Shaun Tan.

    Invisible Cities by Italo Calvino

    Religion and the Decline of Magic by Keith Thomas

  • Other Interests

    David Almond has been greatly influenced by the works of the English Romantic poet William Blake.


David Almond has four sisters and a brother and lots of relatives