Log In

Hugh Callingham Wheeler Edit Profile


Hugh Callingham Wheeler, British Author. Recipient Edgar Allen Poe award, 1961, 73; recipient Antoinette Perryaward, 1973, 74, 79, Drama Critics Circle award, 1973, 74, 79, DramaDesk award, 1973, 74, 79. Member Writers Guild. M C.


Wheeler, Hugh Callingham was born on March 19, 1912 in London. Son of Harold and Florence (Scammell) Wheeler.


Bachelor in English with honours, University London, 1932.


He resided in the United States from 1934 until his death and became a naturalized citizen in 1942. Under the noms de plume Patrick Quentin, Q. Patrick and Jonathan Stagge, Wheeler was the author or co-author of many mystery novels and short stories. Wheeler is credited as "research consultant" for the film Cabaret, though numerous sources list him as co-writer of the screenplay.

Something for Everyone (1970) Travels with My Aunt (1972) A Little Night Music (1978) Nijinsky (1980).


  • In 1963, his 1961 collection, The Ordeal of Mrs. Snow was given a Special Edgar Award by the Mystery Writers of America. He won the Tony Award and the Drama Desk Award for Outstanding Book of a Musical in 1973 and 1974 for his books for the musicals A Little Night Music and Candide, and won both again in 1979 for his book for Sweeney Todd.



Member Writers Guild. M C.


Harold Wheeler

Florence (Scammell) Wheeler