Log In

Hugh Newton Clayton Edit Profile


Hugh Newton Clayton, American lawyer. Bar: Mississippi 1931, Tennessee 1931. Recipient Silver Beaver award Boy Scouts American, 1962, Silver Antelope award, 1968; Paul Harris award Rotary International, 1976; Distinguished Alumnus award University Mississippi, 1983; named Outstanding Law Alumnus University Mississippi, 1977-1978.


Clayton, Hugh Newton was born on August 22, 1907 in Ripley, Mississippi, United States. Son of Ira L. and Nancy (McCord) Clayton.


University of Mississippi (Bachelor of Arts). University of Mississippi (Juris Doctor).


Practiced in, Memphis, 1931-1933;practiced in, Ripley, 1933-1936;city attorney, Ripley, 1933-1936;city attorney, New Albany, Mississippi, 1937-1975, 76-82;attorney, New Albany School Board, 1937-1985. Director Bank of New Albany.


  • Bar: Mississippi 1931, Tennessee 1931.


  • Other Work

    • Editor: Mississippi Law Jour, 1931. Associate editor: New Orleans Christian Advocate, 1941-1942. Contributor articles to professional journals.


As someone joins the group of people seeking to follow the way of Jesus, it means to respond to God's challenge and begin to share his relationship with God as Father.


Church members should support and resourcing their institutions to reflect on political issues in the light of Christian faith.


There are different understandings about the Bible's authority in our lives. The task of every believer is to use different Bible translations and commentaries in order to discover the word of God.


Chairman Union County chapter American Red Cross, 1945-1951, national committee on international operations, 1946-1947, chairman national convention, 1959, member national executive committee and chairman national chapter relations committee, 1954-1956, vice chairman and parliamentarian, 1948. National convention; chairman area advisory committee Southeastern United States, 1949-1951, national board governors, 1950-1956, volunteer field consultant, since 1956, chairman national convention, 1959, chairman state convention, 1961, member state division council, since 1979. Member executive board Yocona Area council Boy Scouts American, since 1955, president, 1963-1965, chairman committee on advancements, 1956-1957, chairman committee on organization and extension, 1958-1960.

Chairman committee on trust fund promotion Region 5, 1968-1972, chairman finance committee, 1972-1973, member national council, 1959-1981, member regional executive committee, since 1966, member national annual meeting committee, 1970-1972, member national committee on local council finance, since 1973, chairman trust fund committee Southeast region, 1974-1980, vice chairman administration committee Southeast region, 1973-1975. Chairman administration committee 1975-1977. President Union County Tuberculosis Association, 1937-1940, New Albany Planning Committee, 1945-1949.

Member national conference Commissioners on Uniform State Laws, since 1956. Member Mississippi Democratic Executive Committee, 1952-1956. Member National Democratic Committee, 1956-1960, member executive committee, 1958-1960.

Member Democratic National Advisory Council, 1959-1960. Founder, 1st president Mississippi Junior Bar, 1936. Served from lieutenant to lieutenant Commander United States Naval Reserve, 1942-1945.

Served as acting commanding officer Naval Air Station, 1945, New Orleans. Fellow American College Trial Lawyers, Mississippi Bar Foundation (trustee), American Bar Foundation (State chairman fellows since 1980), American College Probate Counsel, International Academy Law and Science. Member American Judicature Society (director 1962-1965), International Platform Association, International Bar Association (patron), Federal Bar Association, American Counsel Association (board directors 1980-1983), American Bar Association (member various committees, member house delegations 1966-1986, state delegate 1974-1980, chairman communications committee 1967-1968, chairman standing committee on membership 1973-1978, chairman standing committee on jurisprudence, tenure and compensation 1980-1981, governor 1981-1984, board governors finance committee 1981-1984, chairman board governors finance committee 1983-1984, board committees long range finance planning, planning and management systems, relocation 1983-1984, member executive committee 1983-1984, member standing committee on scope and correlation of work since 1984, secretary 1986, chairman 1987-1988), Mississippi Bar Foundation (trustee 1963-1965, president 1965-1966), Mississippi Defense Lawyers Association (board directors 1980-1983), Mississippi State Bar (1st vice president 1958-1959, president 1959-1960), Mississippi Law Journal Association (board directors 1978-1984), 3d Mississippi Circuit Bar Association (president 1963-1968), Judicial Conference United States 5th Circuit, University Mississippi Alumni Association (director 1962-1965, founder, 1st president law alumni chapter 1964-1965), American Academy Political and Social Science, Mississippi Association Methodist Ministers and Laymen (president 1958), American Bar Retirement Association (board directors 1981-1982), Institute Judicial Administration, American Legion, Scribes (director 1969-1973), Omicron Delta Kappa, Phi Delta Theta, Phi Alpha Delta, Tau Kappa Alpha, Sigma Upsilon.

Clubs: Masons (New Albany, Mississippi), Rotary (New Albany, Mississippi) (district governor 1965-1966), Oaks Country (New Albany, Mississippi).


Married Cathryn Rose Carter, June 26, 1939. Children: Rose Clayton Cochran, Hugh Carter.

Ira L. Clayton

Nancy (McCord) Clayton

Cathryn Rose Carter

Rose Clayton Cochran Clayton

Hugh Carter Clayton