Log In

Jayanthi Venkataraman Edit Profile

educator , Gastroenterologist

Jayanthi Venkataraman, Indian gastroenterologist, educator. Recipient Best Paper Presentation award, INASL, 1997, Best Paper award, National Congress on Diseases of the Chest, Madras, 1997, Best Poster Presentation award, APICON, 2002, Indian Society Gastroenterology, 2003, Indian Journal Gastroenterology, 2003. Member of Indian College Physicians, Academy Medical Sciences.


Venkataraman, Jayanthi was born on March 9, 1953 in Nagpur, India.


Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery, Lady Hardinge Medical College, Delhi, India, 1975. Doctor of Medicine, Madras Medical College, Chennai, 1980. Doctor of Medicine in Gastroenterology, Christian Medical College Chennai, Vellore, India, 1984.


Intern Lady Hardinge Medical College, New Delhi, 1976, junior resident, 1977. Senior research fellow in chronic active hepatitis Indian Council Medical Research, Chennai, 1980. Research associate in subacute hepatic failure Indian College Medical Research, Madras, 1981.

Tutor in medicine, assistant to physician Stanley Medical College, Chennai, 1981—1982. Assistant resident medical officer Government General Hospital, 1984—1985. Tutor in gastroenterology Government Peripheral Hospital, Kilpauk Medical College and Hospital, 1986—1989, assistant professor gastroenterology, 1989—1990, 1991—1998.

NACC-British Digestive Foundation fellow Leicester General Hospital, England, 1990—1991. Reader in medical gastroenterology, senior civil surgeon Coimbatore Medical College Hospital, India, 1998—2001. Professor, head department gastroenterology Government Stanley Hospital, Chennai, since 2001.

Unichem lecturer in gastroenterology Association Physicians of India, 1998. Presenter in field.


  • Other Work

    • Contributor articles to professional journals, chapters to books. Member editorial board Gastroenterology Today, India, 1996, Indian Journal Gastroenterology, 1997—2004, Postgrad. Medical Journal, England, since 1998, Stanley News Magazine, since 2002.


Member of Indian College Physicians, Academy Medical Sciences.