Log In

Mario Vargas Llosa Edit Profile


A Peruvian writer. He has written books of literary criticism, plays and countless newspaper pages in various parts of the world.


In 1955 he married his aunt, Julia Urquidi, and in 1965, in Lima, with his cousin Patricia Llosa. In 1959 he moved to Paris and then to Madrid, where he studied and published his first book, The Heads, a collection of short stories. He spent some years in Paris, Barcelona and London, where he lived as a voluntary exile, between 1974 and 1990 lived in his home country.


In January 2005 Peruvian Ricardo Palma University named him Doctor 'honorary' considered the most prominent world renowned Peruvian writer. Vargas Llosa dedicated his speech to the fourth centenary of 'Don Quixote'.


The fame came after winning the Biblioteca Breve Prize, Barcelona, with his novel The Time of the Hero (1963), which recounts his experiences in the military academy Leoncio Prado, then wrote the novels The Green House (1966) on his years in Piura and Conversation in the Cathedral (1969), which deals with the dark years of the dictatorship of Manuel A. Odria (1948-1956). In 1967 appeared his account Puppies. His next work was Pantoja and the (1973) and then portrays himself in Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter (1977). In The War of the End of the World (1981) returns to the epic compositional style from his early period. Later novels are essentially political history Mayta, (1984), Death in the Andes (1993), and lighter Who Killed Palomino Molero? (1986), In Praise of the Stepmother (1988). In his novel The Storyteller (1987) discusses anthropological cultural identities and differences. A major portion of his essays can be read at Against All Odds (1983-1990). His memoir A Fish in the Water (1993) present a great account of his experience as a frustrated Presidential candidate in the 1990 Peruvian elections. The Notebooks of Don Rigoberto (1997), is introduced into the world of creative fantasy and eroticism. In 2000 appears the novel The Feast of the Goat, on the dictatorship of Rafael Leonidas Trujillo in the Dominican Republic. In 2003 appeared 'Paradise in the other corner', based on the life of writer Flora Tristan and the painter Paul Gauguin, was released on March 20 in Peru. In 2004 he presented a paper on 'Les Miserables' by Victor Hugo entitled 'The Temptation of the Impossible' an extended version of the course he taught at the University of Oxford.


  • Vargas Llosa, has been translated into a host of languages and has achieved major international literary awards, including the Cervantes Prize. Among the most important distinctions he has received-only between those granted to the Spanish-language literature include the Rómulo Gallegos Prize (1967), Prince of Asturias (1986), shared with Rafael Lapesa, Planet (1993) with the novel Death in the Andes, and Cervantes (1994). On February 12, 1976, during the premiere of a film scripted by Vargas Llosa, "The Odyssey of the Andes", in Mexico City, he punched his hitherto Gabriel García Márquez friend fell to the ground, to the amazement of the audience. Mario Vargas Llosa turned around and left. The reasons have never been clear but it appears that was a personal reason and that his political leanings only incited the rift. Vargas Llosa gave the title of "Castro's courtesan" to Colombia. In a television interview to García Márquez asked if he had lost a friend throughout his life, said: "Only one."


Vargas Llosa became known for his staunch neoliberal views.


Modernism and postmodernism


  • Royal Spanish Academy , Spain


  • Modern Language Association America (honorary)

  • International Academy Humanism

  • Peruvian Academy Language


  • Writers

    Martín Adán, Carlos Oquendo de Amat, and César Moro

  • Sport & Clubs