Log In

Mulchand Rathod Edit Profile

Mechanical engineering educator

Mulchand Rathod, Indian Mechanical engineering educator ( engineer, Educated)mechanical engineering educator. award, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, 1981; award 1995, Ben C. Sparks medal 1998).


Rathod, Mulchand was born on March 3, 1945 in Pathri, India. Came to the United States, 1970, naturalized, 1981. Son of Shamjibhai Laljibhai and Ramaben Rathod.


Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering, Sardar Patel University, India, 1970. Master of Science, Mississippi State University, 1972. Doctor of Philosophy, Mississippi State University, 1975.


Research graduate assistant Mississippi State University, 1970-1975. Consultant engineer Bowron & Butler, Jackson, Mississippi, 1975-1976. Assistant professor Tuskegee Institute, Alabama, 1976-1978.

Associate professor, coordinator MET program State University of New York, Binghamton, 1979-1987. Professor Wayne State University, Detroit, since 1987, director engineering technical division, 1987—2003. Consultant Interpine, Hattiesburg, Mississippi, 1977-1979, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, 1980-1983, International Business Machines Corporation Corporation, 1982-1985.

President Shiv-Parvati, Inc. since 1982.


  • Other Work

    • Contributor articles to professional journals. Patentee in field.


Den leader Susquahanna council Boy Scouts American, Vestal, New York, 1983-1984. Fellow: American Society of Mechanical Engineers (certified of appreciation 1982-1989, 1991—2005, Dedicated Service award 1995, Ben C. Sparks medal 1998, Bayerische Motoren Werke award 2001). Member: American Society of Heating, Professional Order Engineering Technology, New York State Engineering Technology Association, American Society Engineering Education (reviewer), India Association Mississippi State University (president 1972-1973), Tau Beta Pi, Tau Alpha Phi (founder, faculty advisor since 1989), Pi Tau Sigma.


Married Damayanti Thakor, August 15, 1970. Children: Prerana, Falgun, Sejal.

Shamjibhai Laljibhai

Ramaben Rathod

Damayanti Thakor

Prerana Rathod

Falgun Rathod

Sejal Rathod