Log In

Roger Huntington Sessions Edit Profile


Roger Huntington Sessions, American composer. Recipient special citation Pulitzer Prize Committee, 1974; Pulitzer prize, 1982; John Simon Guggenheim fellow, 1926-1928; Walter Damrosch fellow American Academy in Rome, 1928-1931; charter member Berkeley Fellows 1968.


Sessions, Roger Huntington was born on December 28, 1896 in Brooklyn. Son of Archibald Lowery and Ruth Gregson (Huntington) Sessions.


Bachelor of Arts, Harvard University, 1915, Doctor of Music, 1964. Bachelor of Music, Yale University, 1917. Doctor of Music, Wesleyan University, 1958, Rutgers University, 1962, New England Conservatory, 1966, Amherst College, 1969, Williams College, 1971, Princeton University, 1972, Cleveland Institute Music, 1975, Boston University, 1977.

Doctor of Laws, Brandeis U., 1965. A.F.D., University of Pennsylvania, 1966. Doctor of Fine Arts, University of California at Berkeley, 1967, Northwestern University, 1971.

D.A., Rider College, 1978.


Instructor music Smith College, 1919-1921. Teacher theory Cleveland Institute Music, 1921-1925. Resided in, Florence, Rome, Berlin, 1925-1933.

Instructor Boston University College Music, 1933-1935. Lecturer New Jersey College for Women, 1935-1937. Instructor Princeton University, 1935-1937, assistant professor, 1937-1940, associate professor, 1940-1945.

Professor music University of California at Berkeley, 1945. Fulbright scholar Academia Luigi Cherubini, Florence, Italy, 1951-1952. William Shubael Conant professor music Princeton, 1953-1965.

Faculty Juilliard School Music, New York City, 1965-1985. Ernest Bloch professor music University of California, Berkeley, 1966-1967. Charles Eliot Norton professor Harvard University, 1968-1969.


  • Other Work

    • Composer: Symphony Northern 1, 1927, Sonata for Piano, 1930, Suite from The Black Maskers, 1923, Three Chorales for Organ, 1926, Concerto for Violin, 1935, String Quartet, Coolidge Festival 1937, 1936, Chorale for Organ, 1938, Duo for Violin and Piano, 1942, Turn O Libertad (mixed chorus and piano, 4 hands), 1944, Sonata Northern 2 for piano, 1946, Symphony Northern 2, 1946, String Quartet Northern 2, 1950-1951. Opera The Trial of Lucullus, 1947, Sonata for Violin, unaccompanied, 1953, Idyll of Theocritus, for soprano and orch, 1954, Mass in celebration of the 50th Anniversary of Kent School, 1955, Concerto for Piano and Orchestra, 1956, Symphony Northern 3, 1957, Northern 4, 1958, String Quintet, 1958, Divertimento for Orchestra, 1959-1960, Montezuma, 1959-1963, Psalm 140 for soprano and orch, 1963, Symphony Number 5, 1964, Sonata Northern 3, 1965, Symphony Northern 6, 1966, Six Pieces for Violoncello Solo, 1966, Symphony Northern 7, 1967, Symphony Northern 8, 1968. Cantata When Lilacs Last in the Dooryard Bloom’d.

      Soloists, chorus and orchestra, 1967-1970, Rhapsody for Orch, 1970, Double Concerto for Violin, Violincello and Orch, 1970-1971, Concertino for Chamber Orch, 1972, 3 Choruses on Biblical Text with Small Orch, 1972, Five Pieces for Piano, 1974, Symphony Northern 9, 1978 (Recipient Creative arts award Brandeis U. 1958, elected Ausserordentliches Mitglied, Akademic der Kunste, Berlin 1960, Gold medal National Institute Arts and Letters 1961, Academico Corresponding, Academia Nacional de Bellas Artes, Argentina 1965, medal Edward MacDowell Association 1968). Author: The Musical Experience of Composer, Performer and Listener, 1950, Harmonic Practice, 1950, Questions About Music, 1970, Roger Sessions on Music, 1979.


Member American Academy Arts and Sciences, International Society Contemporary Music (honorary), American Academy Arts and Letters, League of Composers, International Society for Contemporary Music (co-chairman United States section), Broadcast Music, National Institute Arts and Letters.


Married Barbara Foster, 1920. Children: John Porter, Elizabeth Phelps.

Archibald Lowery Sessions

Ruth Gregson (Huntington) Sessions

Barbara Foster

John Porter Sessions

Elizabeth Phelps Sessions