Log In

Roman Marian Teisseyre Edit Profile


Roman Marian Teisseyre, Polish geophysicist. Recipient 1st class Work Banner award Democratic Republic of Vietnam, 1960, Commandoor Cross, President of Poland, 1969, Warsaw Uprising 1944 Cross, President of Poland, 1996; named Polonia Restituta Officer, President of Poland, 1961.


Teisseyre, Roman Marian was born on April 11, 1929 in Lwow, Poland. Son of Kazimierz and Waclawa Teisseyre.


Master of Science, Warsaw (Poland) University, 1952. Doctor of Philosophy, Warsaw (Poland) University, 1959. Habilitation, Warsaw (Poland) University, 1961.


Assistant Institute Theoretical Physics Warsaw University, 1952-1953. Head seismological department Institute Geophysics, Polish Academy of Sciences, 1953—1980, deputy director, 1960-1970, director, 1970-1972, head geodynamical department, since 1980. United Nations Educational expert International Institute Seismology and Earthquake Engineering, Tokyo, 1965-1966.

Visiting professor International School Advanced Studies, International Center Theoretical Physics, Trieste, Italy, 1979-1980, Institute Earth Physics, University Strasbourg, France, 1984, Institute Seismology and Vulcanology, Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan, 1999. Chief Polish Geophysical Expedition of International Geophysical Year 1957-1958, Vietnam, 1956-1958. Member polar geophysical expedition, Spitsbergen, 1962, 74, 2000.

Chairman geophysical committee Polish Academy of Sciences, 1976-1980, 88-92, secretary department earth and mining science, 1980-1983, member presidium, 1980-1993.



Member of Polish Academy of Sciences, European Seismological Commission (vice president 1970-1976, president 1976-1978), International Association Seismology and Physics of the Earth's Interior (member executive committee 1970-1975), Finnish Academy of Sciences and Letters.


  • Other Interests

    Music, theater, stamp collecting/philately, skiing.


Married Elzbieta Helena Kowalska, April 2, 1951. Children: Krzysztof, Mikolaj.

Kazimierz Teisseyre

Waclawa Teisseyre

Elzbieta Helena Kowalska

Krzysztof Teisseyre

Mikolaj Teisseyre