Log In

Daniel J. Borzutzky Edit Profile

educator , writer

Daniel J. Borzutzky, American writer, educator. Nominee, Puschart Prize for Fiction, 1999, Literature Award, Illinois Arts Council. Volunteer teacher of English as a second language Marjorie Kovler Center for the Treatment of Survivors of Torture, Chicago, 2003—2004.

Background

Borzutzky, Daniel J. was born on May 19, 1974 in Pittsburgh. Son of Carlos A. and Silvia Borzutzky.

Education

Master of Fine Arts in Writing, Art Institute Chicago, 1998—2000.

Career

Professor, liberal arts Art Institute Chicago, since 2000. Professor, writing University Chicago, Graham School, since 2003. Freelance Spanish-English translator, Chicago, 2003—2004.

Book reviewer Rain Taxi, Minneapolis, since 2004.

Works

  • book

    • Arbitrary Tales

      (In the tradition of Ben Marcus, Matthew Derby, and David ...)

  • Other Work

    • Author: (collection of poetry) Arbitrary Tales, 2004.

Membership

Volunteer teacher of English as a second language Marjorie Kovler Center for the Treatment of Survivors of Torture, Chicago, 2003—2004.

Connections

father:
Carlos A.

mother:
Silvia Borzutzky