Log In

E. Lysle Aschaffenburg

hotel executive.

E. Lysle Aschaffenburg, American hotel executive. Recipient Gold Plate award International Food Service Manufacturers Association, 1969.


Aschaffenburg, E. Lysle was born on January 9, 1892 in St. Louis. Son of Albert and Elvine (Schaefer) Aschaffenburg.


Mechanical Engineering, Cornell, 1913.


President, manager Lafayette Hotel, New Orleans, 1919-1927. Vice president Standard Bond & Mortgage Company, 1925-1930. President Pontchartrain Hotel, New Orleans, 1927-1980, managing director, 1936-1980, Chairman of the Board, 1968-1980.

Editorial advisory staff Hotel Management, 1940-1980. President New Orleans Little Theatre Prodns., Inc., 1946-1961. Chairman of the Board Le Petit Theatre du Vieux Carre, 1957-1980.

Board of directors Fair Grounds Corporation, New Orleans, 1948. Board directors, founder member International House, New Orleans, 1949. Board directors New Orleans Crime Commission, New Orleans Safety Council.

Vice chairman Mayor’s Committee on Juvenile Delinquency. President Metropolitan New Orleans Safety Council, 1958.


Served as First lieutenant Ordnance corpus, United States army, 1917, with 82d div., France, 1918-1919. Member American (Board of Governors 1949, chairman residential hotels committee 1948), Louisiana (president 1944), New Orleans (president 1948) hotel associations, Chamber of Commerce New Orleans Area (director), Cornell Society Hotelmen, Confrerie des Chevaliers du Tastevin (grand officier, grand senechal New Orlenas chapter), Hotel Sales Management Association (chairman southern district 1951), New Orleans Opera Association (board directors 1944-1951), American (member board 1966), Greater New Orleans (president 1966) hotel and motel associations, Shakespeare Society New Orleans, Maitre, Commanderie de Bordeaux, New Orleans.


Married Helene Bloom, January 21, 1918.; married second, Josye K. Wagner, October 16, 1953. Children: Albert Lyle, Jean.

Albert Aschaffenburg

Elvine (Schaefer) Aschaffenburg

Helene Bloom

Josye K. Wagner

Albert Lyle Aschaffenburg

Jean Aschaffenburg