Log In

Joyce Carol Oates

educator , writer

Joyce Carol Oates is an American author.


Oates was born in Lockport, New York. She is the eldest of three children of Carolina, a homemaker of Hungarian descent, and Frederic James Oates, a tool and die designer.


Oates attended one-room school at her childhood.

Oates earned a scholarship to attend Syracuse University, where she joined Phi Mu.


Oates has taught at Princeton University since 1978 and is currently the Roger S. Berlind '52 Professor in the Humanities with the Program in Creative Writing.

Oates writes in longhand, working from "8 till 1 every day, then again for two or three hours in the evening." Her prolificacy has become one of her best-known attributes. Several publications have published lists of what they deem the best Joyce Carol Oates books, designed to help introduce readers to the author's daunting oeuvre.


  • Other Work

    • Novels: With Shuddering Fall 1965, A Garden of Earthly Delights 1967, Wonderland 1971, Do With Me What You Will 1973, The Assassins 1975, Childwold 1976, The Triumph of the Spider Monkey 1977, Son of the Morning 1978, Unholy Loves 1979, Cybele 1979, Bellefleur 1980, A Sentimental Education 1981, Angel of Light 1981, A Bloodsmoor Romance 1982, Mysteries of Winterthum 1984, Solstice 1985, Wild Nights 1985, The Lives of the Twins 1987, You Must Remember This 1988, American Appetites 1989, Because It Is Bitter, and Because It Is My Heart 1990. Several volumes of poems including Them 1969 (National Book Award 1970). Plays, stories, essays.Fiction in national magazines.


She was raised Catholic but is now an atheist




Lynn Ann

Fred Junior