Log In

Kathryn O'Sullivan Edit Profile


Kathryn O'Sullivan, American writer. Recipient Individual Artist Award in Playwriting Maryland State Arts Council, 1995, Governor's Citation for Excellence in Playwriting Governor of Maryland, 1995, Mary Marlin Fisher Playwriting award, 1998; Career Development grantee in playwriting American Association of University Women, 1997-1998; Shubert fellow, 1996-1998, Northern Virginia Community College Manassas Campas Faculty of Year, 2004.


O'Sullivan, Kathryn was born on February 25, 1965 in Willimantic, Connecticut, United States. Daughter of James Paul and Judith O'Sullivan.


AB, Boston College, 1987. Master of Arts, Hofstra University, 1991. Master of Arts, Loyola College, 1992.

Master of Fine Arts, Carnegie Mellon University, 1998.


Counselor Manassas City (Virginia) Public Schools, 1992-1996, head of drama, 1999—2001, Northern Virginia Community College, Manassas, since 2001, professor speech and drama, since 2005.


  • book

  • Other Work

    • Author: (novel) Tides of Passion, 1993, (children's book) The Cat Club, 1994, (screenplays) Danger Pointe, 1995, Love Overboard, 1997, The Requiem Club, 2002. (one-act play) The Diesel DeLite, 1997, Lunatic Syringe, 2000, O.B.D., 2002, Lot Lizards, 2003, Pita and Cabbage, 2004. (play) Mae, 1997.

      (teleplays) Crystal's Forecast, 1997, Mismatched, 1998, The Butt Rash, 1998, Lot Lizards, 2006. (directing credits) The Diesel DeLite, 1999 The Crucible, 1999, Winter Ten Minute Play Festival, 2000, The Women, 2000, Little Shop of Horrors, 2001, 2 Nights of 1 Acts, 2001, 1 Night of 1 Acts, 2002, The Haunted Honeymoon, 2002, Dinner at Eight, 2002, The Birds, 2003, Alice in Wonderland, 2003, Radio Plays of Yesteryear, 2005, The Man Who Came To Dinner, 2007. Producer Strange Boarders, 2004, Dracula, 2005, (film) Sweet Dreams, 2005, (film) Lot Lizards, 2006, Dracula's Mother, 2007.


Member American Association of University Women, Southeastern Theatre Conference, Dramatists Guild, Inc., Northern Virginia Community College Alumni Association (named Faculty of Year 2004).


James Paul

Judith O'Sullivan