Log In

Sean O'Brien Edit Profile

critic , editor , writer , poet

Sean O'Brien is a British critic, editor, writer, and poet. He is one of only two poets to have won both the T. S. Eliot Prize and the Forward Poetry Prize for the same collection of poems "The Drowned Book".


Sean O'Brien was born on December 19, 1952 in London, United Kingdom. He grew up in Kingston upon Hull, United Kingdom.


He was educated at Selwyn College, Cambridge and received his Bachelor of Arts in English in 1974. In 1977 he obtained from Birmingham University his Master of Arts in 1977. O'Brien attended Hull University from 1976 to 1979 and gained from Leeds University a Post-Graduate Certificate in Education in 1981.


O'Brien worked as a teacher at Beacon School, Crowborough, East Sussex from 1981 to 1989. He then was fellow in creative writing at the University of Dundee in 1989-1990. Later he was founding editor at The Printer’s Devil literary magazine, Brighton, East Sussex with Stephen Plaice in 1990.


  • He received Eric Gregory award in 1979, Somerset Maugham award in 1984, Cholmondeley award in 1988.