Log In

Sheldon Lee Glashow Edit Profile

Theoretical physicist

Sheldon Lee Glashow is an American physicist who received the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1979 for his work on the electroweak theory, which explains the unity of electromagnetism and the weak force. He is the author of around 300 research papers and three books. Currently he is the Metcalf Professor of Mathematics and Physics at Boston University and Higgins Professor of Physics, Emeritus, at Harvard University.


Sheldon Lee Glashow was born on December 5, 1932 in New York City, USA. His parents, Lewis (Leib) Gluchovsky and Bella Rubin immigrated to the US from Bobruisk, Belarus in the early 20th century. He is the youngest of three children.


Sheldon Lee Glashow received his early education from the Bronx High School of Science in New York City. After graduating from high school in 1950, Glashow enrolled at Cornell University. After earning his bachelor's degree from Cornell University in 1954, Glashow worked on his doctorate at Harvard University, completing his Ph.D. in 1959. He did a post-doctorate fellowship at the Niels Bohr Institute in Copenhagen.


Sheldon Lee Glashow was an associate professor at the University of California from 1962 to 1966. He joined the Harvard University as a professor in 1966, and was named Higgins Professor of Physics in 1979 and became emeritus in 2000. Glashow has been a visiting scientist at CERN, and professor at the University of Marseilles, MIT, Brookhaven Laboratory, Texas A&M, the University of Houston, and Boston University.

Glashow received the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1979 for his "contributions to the theory of the unified weak and electromagnetic interaction between elementary particles, including, inter alia, the prediction of the weak neutral current," according to the Nobel Prize site. He shared this honor with two other scientists, Steven Weinberg and Abdus Salam. Through their work, they had postulated that the two forces of nature—the weak force and the electromagnetic force—could be brought together to form the electroweak force. Glashow also took this idea and applied it to a broader range of elementary particles, including quarks.

Now Sheldon Lee Glashow is conducting research in several areas, including dark matter, the Big Bang Theory, electroweak symmetry breaking and cosmology.


  • American Physical Society

  • American Association for the Advancement of Science

  • American Academy of Arts and Sciences

  • National Academy of Sciences Honors


Polemical, witty, and rarely without a trademark cigar, Glashow is a striking character among contemporary physicists.


Sheldon Lee Glashow is married to Joan Shirley Alexander. They have four children.

Joan Shirley Alexander - United States
Joan Shirley Alexander - wife of Sheldon Lee Glashow





Steven Weinberg - United States
Steven Weinberg - colleague of Sheldon Lee Glashow

Steven Weinberg ( was born May 3, 1933) is an American theoretical physicist and Nobel laureate in Physics for his contributions with Abdus Salam and Sheldon Glashow to the unification of the weak force and electromagnetic interaction between elementary particles.

Abdus Salam - Pakistan
Abdus Salam - colleague of Sheldon Lee Glashow

Mohammad Abdus Salam (29 January 1926 – 21 November 1996), was a Pakistani theoretical physicist. He hared the 1979 Nobel Prize in Physics with Sheldon Glashow and Steven Weinberg for his contribution to the landmark electroweak unification. He was the first Pakistani to receive a Nobel Prize in science.