Log In

Terence Rattigan Edit Profile


Terence Rattigan was one of England's most popular 20th-century dramatists. He is known for such works as The Winslow Boy (1946), The Browning Version (1948), The Deep Blue Sea (1952) and Separate Tables (1954), among many others.


  • Rattigan was knighted in the Queen's Birthday Honours of June 1971 for services to the

    theatre, being only the fourth playwright to be knighted in the 20th century. He had been appointed a Commander of the Order of the British Empire in June 1958.


  • play

    • In Praise of Love

    • Before Dawn

    • A Bequest to the Nation

    • Man and Boy

    • The Deep Blue Sea

    • Playbill