Log In

Shoichiro Fukao Edit Profile


Shoichiro Fukao, Japanese geophysicist. Named Highly Cited Researcher, Thomson Institute of Science Information, 2003; recipient Global Environmental Technology prize, Nihon Keizai Shimbun, Inc., 1994, Shimadzu prize, Shimadzu Science Foundation, 2002, Shida-Rinzaburo prize, Ministry General Affairs Japan, 2004.


Fukao, Shoichiro was born on September 1, 1943 in Shiga, Hyogo Prefecture, Japan.


Bachelor of Science, Kyoto University, Japan, 1967. Master of Science, Kyoto University, 1969. Doctor of Philosophy, Kyoto University, 1974.


Research associate radio communication engineering Kyoto University, 1969—1984, lecturer, 1984—1985. Associate professor radar atmospheric physics Kyoto University Radio Atmospheric Science Center, 1985—1988, professor, 1988—2000, Kyoto University Radio Science Center Space and Atmosphere (formerly Radio Atmospheric Science Center), 2000—2004, Kyoto University Research Institute Sustainable Humanosphere, since 2004. Member Japan national committee ionosphere research Science Council Japan, 1985—1991, 1994—1997.

Member Japan national committee space research Science Council Japan., 1988—1991, 1994—1997, member Japan national committee science committee solar-terrestrial physics, 1988—1999, member Japan national committee international science collaborations, 1994—1999, member Japan national committee radio science, 1994—1997. Member Japan national committee geomagnetism Science Council Japan, 1994—1997. Chairman Japan national committee solar terrestrial physics projects Science Council Japan., 1998—1999.

Member solar terrestrial environment committee Nagoya University Solar Terrestrial Environment Laboratory, 1985—1994, member advisory committee collaborative research programs, 1985—2002, member executive committee, 1993—1998, chairman advisory committee arctic radar, 1996—2002. Member advisory committee Kyoto University Research Institute Sustainable Humanosphere, since 1986, member executive committee, since 1988. Member, temporal science representative Administration Committee Earth Science Policy and Funding, 1988—1989, 1992—1998.

Principal co-investigator global environmental change studies Ministry of Education, Culture and Sports of Japan, New Progressive for Creative Basic Rsc.h Studies, 1991—1994. Member commission meteorology of upper atmosphere International Association Meteorology and Atmospheric Science, 1991—1999. Member advisory committee National Institute Polar Research, 1991—2003, chairman advisory committee incoherent scatter radar, since 1996, member advisory committee Antarctic research expedition, since 2004, member advisory committee logistics planning Antarctic research expedition, since 2004.

Science discipline representative Science Committee Solar-Terrestrial Physics, 1991—1999, chairman steering committee equatorial processes including coupling, 1998—2002. Guest scientist Communications Research Laboratory, 1993—2001. Member advisory committee earth science and technical Council Aeronautics, Electronics and Other Advanced Technology, 1995—1999.

Member science advisory committee Institute Space and Astronautical Science, 1995—2003. Science advisory Research Institute Production Development, since 1995. Affiliated professor Kyoto University Disease Prevention Research Institute, since 1995, University Alaska Geophysical Institute, 1997—2000, Kyoto University Center Southeast Asian Studies, since 2001.

Director Kyoto University Radio Science Center Space and Atmosphere, 1998—2002. Member European Incoherent Scatter council, since 1998, Council of Scientific and Technology, since 2005, chairman subdivision geodesy and geophysics, since 2005.


  • Other Work

    • Associate editor: Radio Science, 1988-1994, Journal Geophysical Research - Space Physics, 1992-1995, since 2006, Journal Geomagnetism and Geoelectricity, 1992-1997, Journal Atmospheric and Solar-Terrestrial Physics, since 1995, member editorial board: Indian Journal Radio and Space Physics, since 1998.


Member of International Association Geomagnetism and Aeronomy (vice chairman Division II Aeronomic Phenomena 1995-1999, chairman Division II Aeronomic Phenomena since 1999, member finance committee since 2004), Society Geomagnetism and Earth, Planetary and Space Sciences (member council since 2003, member steering committee 1987-1995, Tanakadate prize 1980), Meteorological Society Japan (Horiuchi prize 1988), Institute Electronics, Information and Communication Engineers, American Geophysical Union (member regional advisory committee since 1997, Editor's Citation excellence in refereeing 2004).